Main Menu

TrackIP

Started by [FailSafe], January 27, 2010, 07:00:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

[FailSafe]

I was looking through the Function Database over at SMF, and I saw TrackIP() which made me think....If SD is going be a standalone thing would that mean that TrackIP is needed since there is no forum to track it itself?

Sorry, i'm not very good at coding yet, but the question has been bugging at me. :-X

SleePy

Who says SD can't borrow functions from SMF? :D
Jeremy D — Spare-Developer

[FailSafe]

Ahh, Good point.

Well the reason I was asking was because I didn't see any talk about it on the PT so I was wondering if it was being considered. ^^;;

Gruffen

What exactly would you need this for, though?

* Arantor is confused.

[FailSafe]

Well, because it's going to be built as a standalone instead of with the SMF forum.

To try and clarify my logic, since it's standalone you won't be able track the IP address of the ticket senders using SMF. So to compensate you would use TrackIP(), or something, to track the IP's of the users who send in and reply to tickets to enhance the standalone quality of it.

Gruffen

Quote from: [FailSafe] on January 28, 2010, 07:03:20 PM
Well, because it's going to be built as a standalone instead of with the SMF forum.

Where have we said that? It's directly built into SMF thus far. No code exists that can run standalone. It was a matter we discussed but there are no plans to do anything other than integrate it with SMF at present.

To try and clarify my logic, since it's standalone you won't be able track the IP address of the ticket senders using SMF. So to compensate you would use TrackIP(), or something, to track the IP's of the users who send in and reply to tickets to enhance the standalone quality of it.