SimpleDesk

SimpleDesk! => SimpleDesk Discussion => Topic started by: feline on April 05, 2010, 02:25:56 PM

Title: Bug on Admin section
Post by: feline on April 05, 2010, 02:25:56 PM
On load the Admin page, the variable $context['html_headers'] is cleared.
To fix that change

// Load some extra CSS
$context['html_headers'] = '
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="' . $settings['default_theme_url'] . '/css/helpdesk_admin.css" />


to

// Load some extra CSS
$context['html_headers'] .= '
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="' . $settings['default_theme_url'] . '/css/helpdesk_admin.css" />


Fel
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 02:28:36 PM
Thanks for that, Feline. I'll fix that in SVN now, so if we have a 1.0.1 release it'll go in, failing that it'll appear in 1.1.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: feline on April 05, 2010, 02:32:46 PM
I just test simpledesk .. looks good for now.
It works not with PortaMx in the stand alone mode ..

And I have no access to the bugtracker?

Fel
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 02:35:47 PM
Access to bug tracker should be restricted to readonly for users outside of Beta Testers and team, simply because we know full well we'd get flooded with reports that are duplicates - basically the same reason simplemachines.org operates a bug reports board.

What happens with PortaMX in standalone mode exactly?
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: feline on April 05, 2010, 02:44:56 PM
Because we load the "Frontpage template" if no action exist, this get the error
Cannot redeclare template_main() (previously declared in Themes\default\PortaMx\PortaMx.template.php:15) in Themes\default\SimpleDesk.template.php on line 83

Is there a global settings exist, with information if simpledesk installed && active && in standalone mode?

Fel

.oO(the captcha is nerved)
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 02:47:02 PM
Yup.

if (!empty($modSettings['helpdesk_active']) && !empty($modSettings['shd_helpdesk_only']))


CAPTCHA is only for 5 posts, btw.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: feline on April 05, 2010, 03:04:46 PM
Ahh .. great. I will check that and if it works, this will be implemented in portamx.

Fel
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: feline on April 05, 2010, 03:06:36 PM
One other problem ..
The private switch (change) don't work .. (note, that I use SimpleSEF 1.0.3)

Fel
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 03:14:24 PM
/me wonders if that's an SSEF problem, as we never tested it with SSEF in development.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: feline on April 05, 2010, 03:24:16 PM
Ok .. the stand alone mode works .. but we then have no frontpage   ???

I will think about that ...

Fel
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 03:25:43 PM
Well, SD standalone mode was never really intended to be used with a forum; the idea is - as we described it to be - something for shutting down the forum generally, so there's a user base (and thus integrations/bridges to other systems), rather than anything else.

I'm not entirely sure what you'd use SD in standalone mode with a portal for...
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: feline on April 05, 2010, 03:31:23 PM
Yeah .. that's a good point. But I tested that and have a error .. not good.
With a small modification on my startup code I can fix that .. and anybody is happy  ;D

Fel
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 03:32:20 PM
We did try to be as non-invasive as possible but if there's anything that we can work together on to make both mods co-exist, that would always be good :)
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: tfs on April 05, 2010, 03:49:59 PM
Quote from: Arantor on April 05, 2010, 03:25:43 PM
I'm not entirely sure what you'd use SD in standalone mode with a portal for...

In stand alone mode it would be nice to have a "Welcome to the HelpDesk" portal page, where you could provide specific information for the client.  Rules, policies, procedures, links, etc.

I had (Kind Of) done this on a test forum I setup by showing a SimplePortal top block using the -~action|helpdesk modifier in SimplePortal, which tells the block to NOT show if is sees action=helpdesk on the URL.  So the block would show up THE FIRST time you arrive at the helpdesk, but as soon as you do anything it goes away.  So it acts as a kind of welcome screen.

To see the block again you can remove the action=helpdesk from the URL, or click on the forum logo, which does the same thing.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 03:57:48 PM
Ah, that sort of makes sense, actually. Maybe there's scope for an enhancement to the standalone mode to have a front page?
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: ~DS~ on April 05, 2010, 04:01:23 PM
Quote from: Arantor on April 05, 2010, 03:57:48 PM
Ah, that sort of makes sense, actually. Maybe there's scope for an enhancement to the standalone mode to have a front page?
Our helpdesk doesn't have one so yeah.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 04:02:45 PM
It does... it's the list of tickets ;)
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: ~DS~ on April 05, 2010, 04:10:22 PM
Quote from: Arantor on April 05, 2010, 04:02:45 PM
It does... it's the list of tickets ;)
Duh. That's not what I meant.
/me knows that Arantor understand what he meant
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: tfs on April 05, 2010, 04:11:49 PM
Either a front page that we provide, or a method for accommodating portal programs.  I'd be up for some extensive testing with SimplePortal, which is the only portal I've ever used.

I have no portal preferences myself... the person who introduced me to SMF used SimplePortal, and so I have a familiarity with it.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 04:12:57 PM
I know, just kidding with ya.

I can see that as something we add to SD actually. The standalone mode was never intended to be used with portals, and doing our own would likely be easier for users than trying to get it to work nicely with all the portal mods.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: ~DS~ on April 05, 2010, 04:17:10 PM
Quote from: Arantor on April 05, 2010, 04:12:57 PM
I know, just kidding with ya.

I can see that as something we add to SD actually. The standalone mode was never intended to be used with portals, and doing our own would likely be easier for users than trying to get it to work nicely with all the portal mods.
An optional to enable our own fontpage so user can either decide to use SD's fontpage or portal's fontpage which can be done from our ACP
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 04:18:28 PM
That could be done, sure.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: tfs on April 05, 2010, 04:20:15 PM
In SimplePortal I can create new "pages" where I can put any blocks I like.  "Pages" don't show up on the menu, but they are accessible through the URL.  You could simply allow the user to enter the URL of the "Welcome" page, and then feed them there by creating one new menu item.  It might be an easier way than developing our own portal page, though I'm unclear if that was your meaning.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 04:22:39 PM
/me thinks he needs to go check out portals, doesn't really use them.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: ~DS~ on April 05, 2010, 04:30:05 PM
Quote from: Arantor on April 05, 2010, 04:22:39 PM
/me thinks he needs to go check out portals, doesn't really use them.
There's always a first time for everything. :P
Heck it's not like you are gonna use them let alone on localhost.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: Gruffen on April 05, 2010, 04:32:12 PM
That's basically it; I once used a portal on a project site, found it didn't really make a lot of difference in practice.

But I can see the appeal. I think it's something we're going to have to look at more indepth.

Key thing: you guys (portal users) need to tell us what you'd like it to do and we'll make the magic happen.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: feline on April 06, 2010, 05:17:25 AM
For PortaMx we need no special handling. On stand alone mode we hide the portal.
If a user request a single page, the frontpage is shown with the requested page.
All works easy and will be implemented in the next update (v0.980-1)  :)

Fel
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: ~DS~ on April 06, 2010, 05:19:33 AM
Quote from: feline on April 06, 2010, 05:17:25 AM
For PortaMx we need no special handling. On stand alone mode we hide the portal.
If a user request a single page, the frontpage is shown with the requested page.
All works easy and will be implemented in the next update (v0.980-1)  :)

Fel
Glad to hear it's working with PortaMx, feline.
Title: Re: Bug on Admin section
Post by: MultiformeIngegno on April 06, 2010, 06:07:50 AM
Quote from: tfs on April 05, 2010, 03:49:59 PM
In stand alone mode it would be nice to have a "Welcome to the HelpDesk" portal page, where you could provide specific information for the client.  Rules, policies, procedures, links, etc.
x2!